Food Friday: Feta Cherry Meatloaf with Dilled Sweet Peas

My friend Russell is the best gift giver I know. Every time I get something from him, it’s nothing I even knew about yet exactly what I’ve always wanted. For instance, this Christmas he got me this, which really delighted me as a fan of the series and a blossoming artist. Oh, and a poster of the Handsomest Man Alive. One year, however, I feel like I really got him something awesome, too. Not because I think he particularly enjoyed it, but because it has benefited me at least once every week since then. It was a cookbook, and it had the recipe for the best meatloaf I had ever tried. I tweaked it ever so slightly, and now it suits my tastes even more. Here’s my version.

Feta Cherry Meatloaf

1 lb. ground beef

1/2 cup dried cherries

1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese

1 egg

1 teaspoon seasoned salt

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper

Bread crumbs or something (I grind up the heel of a loaf of bread or a stale hot dog bun, but you can use a handful of smashed crackers or some rice, if you don’t have any disposable bread on hand)

Mix everything up and bake at 375. Check on it after 45 minutes. Mine usually needs somewhere between 5 and 15 more minutes, depending on how I shape the loaf. The cherries will get pretty black and the feta will turn a nice golden brown when it’s done.

When I first heard about this meatloaf, I had some serious doubts. But let me tell you, the sweetness from the cherries and the savory beef really compliment each other. And the feta adds a real creaminess to it all. It’s my husband’s favorite meal. Sometimes, I make it for SophistiKatie and her husband, but I have to double the recipe because he will eat 3/4 of one by himself. I’m not even joking.

But wait there’s more! See those peas up there in the picture?  Katie made them for me one time, and they’re easy and delicious. So it’s bonus recipe time!

Dilled Sweet Peas

Frozen peas

Butter

Salt

Pepper

Dill weed

I can’t even tell you a proper recipe here. You just boil and drain some frozen peas, then stir them up with some butter. Add salt and pepper to taste, as well as a hearty shake of dill weed. There’s really nothing else to it. You can follow the same instructions for corn, and it works equally well.

Look at that! A whole meal in one blog! You’re totally welcome.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

