Food Friday: Cilantro Apple Salsa

I was going to post about this much earlier, but lost my phone with all the pictures on it. The same week I washed my iPod with the rest of the laundry. It was a bad week for my electronics, but aren’t they all? Fortunately, I found it again, so now I can tell you all about this dish. It’s my new favorite salsa. That’s saying a lot, because my old favorite salsa is really spectacular. I’ll share it with you one of these days.

This one is super easy to make, not terribly expensive, and tastes fresh and crisp and complex. Also, since it’s not tomato-based, your guests will be dazzled at how creative a chef you are, and we all know that’s what appetizers are for.

Cilantro Apple Salsa

3 apples

2 oranges

1 red, yellow or orange bell pepper

1/2 red onion

1 clove of garlic

1/2 bunch of cilantro

jalapeno pepper (totally optional, I didn’t use one)

1 lime’s juice

1T vinegar

1T olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

Peel and core the apple, then remove the peel and pith from the orange. I just chopped the skin off with a knife, like cutting a pineapple. You lose some of the fruit that way, but it removes all of the outer membrane, which tends to be a little fibrous for my taste.

Chop the garlic as finely as you can, or smash it up or whatever. I used my garlic press. You don’t want to get a big mouthful of it in this stuff.

Finely chop up all the solids, then toss with the liquids to dress.

I used my handy dandy Pampered Chef chopper and it was easy to just bang away at it and wind up with a nice, even chop. I bet you could dump it all in a food processor just as easily. If you use one of these methods, save the orange out and cut it by hand into small pieces. Do the same with the cilantro, or else you will wind up with just orange juice and battered pieces of pulp and bruised herbs.

I served mine with corn chips, but it would also be good with some sort of cracker and cheese arrangement, on tacos, atop grilled fish or chicken, or mixed in a salad. As easy as it is, you could mix up a whole mess of it and put it on everything you eat for a week and still not get tired of it. I mean, I would assume so. I certainly did not try it myself.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

