Food Friday: Road Trip

By the time you read this, I will be in Oklahoma. Finally! There are people I want to see and places I want to go and things I want to do, all of which hold super special places in my heart. But I’m not going to lie, I am really looking forward to the food. Here is a list of the places I intend to eat.

Braum's Ice Cream and Dairy Store, home of the everything good at all.

By the time this post is up, I will have already started. I guarantee it. There is a Braum’sin Kansas. The good folks over at The Lost Ogle seem to disagree, but a burger, sundae, and limeade from Braum’s is one of very few actually perfect meals. Sure, it takes forever to get your food, but these people are making art, and you have to just let them do it. You can’t rush something that beautiful, unless you are eating it. It’s totally easy to rush eating it.

I mentioned Johnnie’s in one of my other posts, but I don’t think I really got my point across. I read a review on Yelp once that said, ” Drive to Johnnie’s, get a burger with sauce, get back in your car, leave the state.” You see, Johnnie’s special sauce is the most valuable substance on Earth. If I am ever in peril, I am certain the thing that would do me the most good is a sauce transfusion. This will be my dinner when I pull into town, assuming I get there before they close. Otherwise, I am not above eating a burger and onion rings for breakfast.

I promise I miss more than just hamburgers, but there is also Big Ed’s, home of the Big Ed burger. I can almost guarantee I won’t order one of those, though, given that it feeds about eight people and I can only eat for maybe six.

You know that's right.

When I’m tired of burgers, I’m heading to Cattlemen’s. Cattlemen’s has been around forever, in the same location in the stockyards, which makes perfect sense because it is the best steak I have ever had anywhere, ever. RoadFood.com agrees that it’s worth the trip.

Too much beef? No problem. Pearl’s has great fish. My standard is the pecan crusted trout, but I’ve never been disappointed by something I’ve tried there.

All these dinners, but where will I go for breakfast? Easy. Jimmy’s Egg. I can’t actually remember what it is I loved so much about Jimmy’s Egg. What I do remember is going there nearly every weekend with my mom until we moved to Colorado, and there was always a line that went out the door, so it must have been really something.

And I couldn’t visit the state without stopping at Taco Bueno. After steaks and seafood, I’ve got to save money somewhere, right? Peole say that it’s just another fast food Mexican place, but here is my response to that: MexiDips and Chips. It’s guacamole, refried beans and queso, all served in little bowls made out of corn chips, and a big ol’ pile of additional chips for dipping.  Mmm.

Those are all the places I can think of off the top of my head. I’m sure there are more. The problem is that I’m only going to be there for four dinnertimes. I don’t know how I’m going to fit all this food into my schedule, let alone my stomach. But I promise you this, dear reader, I will try.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

