Food Friday: Fiber One Muffin Mix

I know, I promised pictures of my darling’s ladybug cake today. The thing is, I only got pictures of it with my phone, and they are all kind of crap. SophistiKatie got gobs of good pictures on her fancy-pants camera, but she has company right now so I haven’t gotten them from her yet. But trust me, it will all be worth it when I finally post them.

Healthcake

In the mean time, let me tell you about this muffin mix Fiber One makes. SophistiKatie told me about these and I was skeptical. I mean, fiber muffins? I may as well eat a brick. I know it makes me some kind of jerk, but I absolutely hate heavy, dry, bran-intensive muffins. To me, “muffin” is just a word we use so we can excuse having cupcakes for breakfast. I want something sweet and fluffy and moist. I know I’m not alone in this. It’s like Fiber One understands that. These muffins are so incredibly delicious, you wouldn’t even know they were healthy. My daughter loves them. I love them. Even my husband, who completely distrusts vegetables, loves them.

I have tried all of the different varieties, and they are all good. The one that really takes the cupcake (see what I did there?) is the apple cinnamon mix. They are everything I want in a muffin. Throw a little cream cheese icing on those bad boys and you have yourself a cupcake, my friend. Not only are they delicious, but if you look closely at that picture, you will see something else awesome about these muffins. Each one has 130 calories and FIVE WHOLE GRAMS of dietary fiber. That’s twenty percent of your recommended daily fiber  intake. That’s a lot of fiber for something so yummy. I could easily eat a whole dozen by myself in one sitting, so I should be healthy any day now.

One thought on “Food Friday: Fiber One Muffin Mix

  1. Sara says:

    This comment is quite late, but I need to tell you that if you add mashed up banana to the blueberry mix and reduce the liquid a little, it is splendid.

Leave a Reply

