Arty Party: Yarn Bombing

I have been feeling great lately. My little darling turned three and we had a ladybug-themed party for her. (Look out for pictures of her cake on Friday.) My husband has been really enjoying his new job which, in turn, makes my job (staying at home) easier.  But the thing that has really primed me to be happy about it all is the changing weather. Fall has arrived here in Colorado, and I couldn’t be more excited to see it.

This year, in addition to being amped about getting to wear all my cold-weather clothes, which are way cuter than my hot-weather clothes, I will have a super cute hat that my friend is knitting me. I got to choose my own yarn. I can’t wait. There are few things more special than a hand-knitted accessory. This brings me to today’s topic.

Yesterday, I was reading Regretsy‘s super-secret members-only area and saw some stuff done by one of the community members. She calls it “yarn bombing”. Apparently, it’s something a lot of crafty types have been doing lately. Here’s how it works: knit something and leave it out in public. The result is incredibly uplifting, if you ask me. The trees and stop signs and bike racks and lamp posts all look like they’re warm and cozy in their scarves and sweaters! Not only that, but it’s a really great way to get more art out in the community in a way that is really accessible and can be enjoyed for free by everyone. I love that.

Here are a few pictures I found at yarnbombing.com.

Have any of you seen instances of yarn bombing in your area? Have you participated in it? I would learn how to knit in order to do something similar. If you’re a yarn bomber, leave me a comment and let me know how it went! Share your pictures! If you want to try it, there’s no time like the present!

Tagged , ,

4 thoughts on “Arty Party: Yarn Bombing

  1. Sara says:

    I hope to finish your hat by November and yarn-bomb yoir head. :)

  2. I just discovered the yarn bomb and for the first time, I wish I could knit. :)

  3. Sara says:

    Sigh. Have not knit in ages. Guilt, guilt. I must knit your hat.

  4. Doc Mollyday says:

    Sara, you certainly must! It’s going to be warm any day now!

Leave a Reply

