Food Friday: Cucumber Limeade

Ahhhhhh.... refreshing

You make and drink this. I'll work on getting a better picture of it.

Summer is miserable. It’s hot and sticky and awful and I hate it. Here are somethings I hate about summer, in no particular order:

1. Being hot
2. Bugs
3. Not having air conditioning
4. Sunburn
5. Unflattering summer clothes
6. Not getting to wear my cute socks because they are too hot
7. Not getting to eat soup for every meal because it is too hot
8. Being hot

I am not good at being uncomfortable and, since I live in a place where “you don’t need air conditioning” I wind up uncomfortable most of the time. But before you think I am a negative Nancy, I’ll tell you about the things I will miss when fall, which is the best, comes back around.

1. Drinking cucumber limeade until I am sick

I found this recipe online a while ago and have consumed it nonstop since then. I don’t know that I’ve ever had anything more refreshing. It tastes like going swimming with your friends while your parents stand around the grill and talk about politics. If I were a tacky mid-century housewife, I would use it to seduce servicemen. It’s that refreshing. Not only is it amazing, it’s super easy to make. You should give it a go.

Cucumber Limeade
adapted from BacktoHerRoots.com
This makes one big pitcher, but can easily be expanded.

1 large cucumber
3-4 limes (I like mine extra limey, so I use at least 4)
simple syrup to taste (about a cup)

Start by making your simple syrup. Put equal parts sugar and water in a sauce pan and heat it until the sugar dissolves. Set it aside until it is cool.

Juice your limes into a blender. If you are making a lot, you might consider buying the lime juice instead of squeezing it. I’ve never tried the bottled kind, but squeezing limes is work, and this is a drink for relaxing. Each lime should yield about 2 tablespoons of juice, if you’re planning to use store bought.

Peel your cucumber, cut it into chunks, then toss them in the blender, too.

Add your simple syrup. Start with about a half a cup. You can always add more if it’s not sweet enough. I usually wind up using about a cup. If you have too much simple syrup on hand, store it in the fridge. You can use it for lots of things, like mojitos or pretending you’re a humming bird.

Fill the blender the rest of the way up with water and whiz it all around until the cucumber is unrecognizeable.

Pour it through a strainer and serve iced.

Pro tip: The flavor really grows the longer it sits, so you can make this the day before a party and it’s lovely.

Enjoy!

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

